Soup as Metaphor for Life

Lunchtime. I know there is celery in this soup, lurking at the bottom; despite being a tomato soup, there are unmistakable signs that celery has infiltrated the broth. I dislike celery almost as passionately as I loathe pineapple. And blue cheese. And anchovies. And those ghastly chocolates with orange or strawberry cream centres.

But I digress.

My point was that I know there is celery in this soup. However, I am choosing to ignore it because I am hungry, skint and idle* – all factors conspiring to make it highly unlikely that I will get up, throw this away then go out and buy something else to eat.

The trick is to sup my soup with extreme caution. If I just continue to skim the liquid from the top without disturbing the dodgy lower layers, then I may be able to evade the celery ‘floater’ which haunts my imagination…

 

* I am also disapproving of unnecessary waste, of course.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Soup as Metaphor for Life

  1. azahar says:

    Life’s too short to worry about celery floaters. Next time ditch the tainted soup and get something you really want.

  2. I’ve had lunches like that. And life like that, too.

  3. woo says:

    Azahar – excellent advice. I shall do that next time.

    David – yes, but you are bravely stirring the soup, seeking out the celery floaters in order to remove them with a careful spoon. 🙂

  4. Celery belongs in the cellar not in the soup! However blue cheese and pineapple are delectable. Pineapple with ham in toasted sandwiches and blue cheese with port – – –

  5. OmbudsBen says:

    You do make me feel better about my own compulsions. 🙂 We who make our living in publishing earn our wages due to them!

  6. woo says:

    Archie – euuuuwwwwwww.

    Ombudsben – I am providing a valuable community service, making everyone else look a little less odd. 😉

Leave a Reply

