weekend walk with workmates

1. Every quarter, our company sets aside up to $100 per head to be spent on an activity or outing. I was nominated to be one of three people forming the company’s social committee, which means (given that one of the three has since left and the other is our accountant and doesn’t care what we do so long as its cheap) I get to choose what those activities are and to organise them. It isn’t difficult really. Especially here in sunny Sydney – the weather here is far more reliable than back in dear old Blighty where I spent 8 years in a previous life organising charity events. In the rain.

So, here we are, some of us, on Saturday, on a 10km bushwalk along the harbour cliffs and foreshore of Sydney’s northern beaches.

2 Americans, 8 Aussies, 2 English, 1 Irish, 2 Canadians and 1 Swede.

That’s me gurning at the front with my boss 🙂

Spit to Manly

I enjoyed the walk immensely. Partly because I always enjoy a walk and partly because for most of the route I was lucky enough to find myself with a particularly interesting and pleasant walking partner.

And we had a catered picnic on the beach in Manly at the end of the walk. Delicious.

picnic

I would just like to point out that it is winter here. WINTER. I don’t think the novelty of wearing sunglasses in winter will ever pall.

2. Perhaps I am overly English about such things, but I consider it downright rude not to turn up to a catered event without notice. Even when one’s company is paying. Quite apart from anything else, it meant that the jolly nice couple who had spent hours making sandwiches and salads and buying drinks, need not have gone to quite so much trouble. And I abhor waste.

3. Of course, now that the sun has gone down it is positively baltic and we’re due to go out for a training run in about 30 minutes. Brrrr. 

4. On Saturday night at about 10 o’clock I got a text from an Irish guy I haven’t seen in over a year, asking if I was doing anything and if he should come over. I believe that is what is known, officially, as a booty call. An unsuccessful one, at that.

You want to see me again? Fine, that’s nice. Ask me out. Don’t ask yourself over.

Good grief, what is WRONG with [some] men?

5. This type of writing is why I would like to shake Stephen Fry by the hand… oh, who am I kidding? I’d like to smother him in kisses and frolic in his shadow 🙂

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to weekend walk with workmates

  1. Sounds wonderful, with just enough not quite wonderful for seasoning, depending on taste.

  2. 1. That looks lovely.

    2. I agree, but I may be overly Southern. In such cases, I usually take leftover home and live off of it for as long as possible.

    3. Oh my. I think that is what treadmills are for . . .

    4. Silly man.

    5. Oh, thanks for sharing!

  3. I’m sure I’m not the only reader of Fry’s lecture to be irresistibly reminded of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jh2TJ2DAy_o

  4. REad the Fry lecture, great prose if a trifle long. Sounds like you have Ozarks weather. The rule here is if you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes. It’ll change.

  5. woo says:

    Mr Random – precisely. I like my wonderful rationed, sensibly.

    waxingstrange – 1. I feel sure you would have enjoyed it. 2. I don’t think one can be overly Southern 😉 3. About 3 minutes into the run I would have agreed with you, but we soon warmed up and its so much more interesting than a treadmill 4. Yes. 5. A pleasure.

    David – an interesting link. It hadn’t occurred to me, I have to confess…

    healingmagichands – yes, although I think Stephen Fry is just about the only person I would forgive a lack of brevity. I love your Ozarks weather rule – I will instantly adopt it for Sydney!

  6. azahar says:

    I have wanted to marry Stephen Fry for years. Yes, I know, and I don’t care. I’d rather have sparkling conversation any day.

  7. woo says:

    me, too. 🙂

  8. “I asked a Kenyan with whom we were working whether he was pleased that America looked to be about to have its first black president, and one of Kenyan extraction at that? ‘Very pleased,’ he replied. ‘But you must remember Mr. Obama’s mother is of European extraction. If Barack Obama had stayed here and been elected as our leader, he could have become Kenya’s first white president.’”

    Of course I went straight to the Fry lecture. I’m nothing if not be-predictable.

    Sounds like a wonderful walk as well.

  9. OmbudsBen says:

    Re sunglasses in wintertime: I think I read somewhere that Eskimos invented sunglasses. Of course, they had a glaring need …

Leave a Reply

