Niece Niceness

IMG_3326

The amount of love and pride I feel for this small (but getting bigger by the day and practically a genius already) person is quite extraordinary. I mean, I have only ever spent one week with her, a year ago – our contact since then has been via skype video calls in which I show her the books I’m working on and she admires the pictures: “Nice dine-sorrr”. But I really do feel that I would gladly donate an organ, several even, should she need them. Possibly because this week she said, quite clearly, “Love you auntie Woo” to the screen as she waved goodbye.

Awwwwww.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Niece Niceness

  1. David says:

    Quelle cutie! I envy you, having a niece to call your own. That’s one down side of not having siblings. Unclehood isn’t ever going to happen for me.

  2. woo says:

    I have to say, while I was growing up I wasn’t too keen on my sisters who were much younger than me, though my brother and I have always been close. However, I am enormously thankful not to have been an only child.

  3. I’m glad your niece is so nice. My niece is not. Of course, she is also a 26 year old manic depressive arrogant self centered genius. She takes after her mother.

  4. woo says:

    Mr Random – 🙂

    healingmagichands – thankfully, if my niece takes after either her mother or father she will turn out to be a lovely, caring, generous person. The fact that my brother turned out that well, despite the example set by our father, is one of the small miracles of life.

  5. LazyBuddhist says:

    Awww. I missed the cute niece phase with my two nieces as it took place during the Great Silence where my brother and I had nothing to do with each over for over a decade. Now, though, I have two frighteningly well behaved teenage nieces who love Jesus and have adopted my brother’s right wing political and social views. The fact, that they speak to me even though I am a complete heathen does speak well of their sweet nature. Alas, the dream of pissing off my brother by taking my nieces out for their first piercing and/or tattoos is not to be.

  6. woo says:

    well, you might be surprised – some of those kids turn out to rebel the most, because they really have something to rebel against… 😉

  7. OmbudsBen says:

    Very cute, T-woo! I hope you get a chance to visit again soon. (What a nuisance circumnavigation is. Too bad there isn’t a sci fi solution whereby a tube could shuttle you straight through, nonstop.)

Leave a Reply

