In Which, Yes, Men Are Like Buses

So, I seem to have three dates lined up this week.

Second date with Tall Geologist on Sunday. Probably a movie. We had a lovely first date brunch last Sunday. He was interesting and confident without monopolising the conversation or being at all cocky. I felt very comfortable.

Swimmer Guy contacted me again at the weekend, too. Remember him? He’s the one who invited himself over to my place after our first date and then had a paddy when I un-invited him. He has since apologised and asked me out for a proper date on Thursday night at the Yacht Club, so we’ll see. I’m considering wearing a tshirt emblazoned with ‘Two Strikes And You’re Out Buster’. Possibly that would be too subtle.

Then there’s Cremorne Chap. We’ve made vague plans to meet for the first time on Saturday for a coffee. But I’m thinking we probably shouldn’t really bother because, while he looks the most handsome of the three, he also seems the most motivated by mammon which isn’t my vibe at all. Apparently he owns his own harbour-front house and drives a shiny car… all of which leaves me entirely cold, frankly. Still, he can at least spell and hold a conversation so maybe I should give him the benefit of the doubt; I’m reliably informed that many women are actively seeking such evidence of financial health and how is he supposed to know that I’m not one of them, right?

I’m going to a speed-dating by candlelight (I’ll take all the help I can get, darkness is my friend etc etc) event on Friday with a friend, too.

And just to complete the ‘men are like buses’ truism, we have a new freelancer in the office. English, like me; tall, like me; and outdoorsy, like me. We had a jolly nice chat at lunchtime, he’s rather attractive and – surprisingly – single. Hmmm.

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In Which, Yes, Men Are Like Buses

  1. modestypress says:

    Maybe what would be most suitable for you would be a harem.

    That can’t be the right word for several men kept by one woman. What would be the correct term to use for such an arrangement?

    Maybe boy wonder David knows.

  2. jiva says:

    well you’re all the lucky! hopefully this time you’ll find Mr Right. Although I’m impressed with your field playing tactics.

  3. piereth says:

    Typical that an man-agglomeration should present itelf; serried ranks, like mushrooms on a log – but there’s a strength here, which when I’ve said it might show up how shallow I am; nevertheless, I will.

    More chaps = less risk and more fun. There, I said it. And the dating even sound wonderful.

  4. piereth says:

    Am I pissed? No? Well, I should be for at least then I’d have an excuse!

    Translation:

    A man-agglomeration.
    ..the dating event sounds wonderful.

    Gagh!! xxx

  5. sledpress says:

    With all that other action on the horizon, I’d throw Swimmer Guy back. Does Cafe Press speed ship?

  6. Have fun … and trust your gut. If it smells fishy, it’s rotten. That’s the bottom line. πŸ™‚

  7. OmbudsBen says:

    Is “Two strikes you’re out” a cricket reference? If so, I’m glad I grew up with American baseball. We get three strikes, here–which means another chance before that fatal final scene. πŸ˜‰

  8. woo says:

    Mr Random – I don’t want to keep all of them – in fact, I’ll probably find I don’t want to keep any of them…

    sledpress – Word

    Azahar – πŸ˜‰

    Jiva – yup, I figure its okay to date more than one chap in a week if its still just ‘figuring out if we like each other’ stage, but if/when any of them progress then I will have the ‘so we’re not dating anyone else now right?’ chat πŸ™‚

    piereth – a man-agglomeration has hidden pitfalls, clearly! πŸ˜‰

    sledpress – well, but, see, he did apologise without making excuses and simply promised to try his best not to fuck it up again. And he is the funniest of the three…

    David – excellent advice, as always.

    Ombudsben – well, now, I thought I was being all trans-atlantic with my attempt at a baseball reference… cricket you’re out the first time, no second chances (we’re a hard bunch, the English)

  9. azahar says:

    So it’s the frequency thing then, not just that you like to ride them?

  10. Hey, I say give the guy with the harbor house and shiny car a break. It isn’t his fault he has some money, and there is nothing wrong with being solvent. YOu have no way of knowing at this point how much money he is throwing at charities, he may donate lots to Doctors without Borders or whatever, and just have the shiny car because it’s less trouble than an old clunker.

    In fact, I could use a little more solvency around here what with the economy sucking wind and my massage clientele pared down to the bare minimum. Things are looking up, though.

    Looks like they are for you, and I am convinced (still) that the right guy is out there for you.

  11. modestypress says:

    Perhaps it doesn’t have anything useful to say to you, but I suggest viewing the Spike Lee film She’s Gotta Have It.

  12. woo says:

    sledpress – yup, funny goes a long way with me, too. Sometimes all the way πŸ˜‰

    azahar – (chokes on coffee) er, yes, that and the fact that they don’t have numbers on the front which clearly indicate in what direction they’re heading…

    healingmagichands – well, its not the being solvent which puts me off, it was the way he mentioned (several times) what he owned, as though it should impress me, you know? But you’re right, I will give him the benefit of the doubt.

    Mr Random – what does she gotta have?

    • sledpress says:

      Ha. My Albino Ex had a friend who couldn’t get a date, and we tried to help for a while, until the big dramatic blonde we fixed him up with came back to tell a tale of steak-in-a-basket and dinner conversation about prostate calcifications. Later he was heard to fret and wonder: “I’ll be retired in a couple of years with a good income and own two rental properties. I don’t understand why women aren’t interested in me.”

      If he hasn’t said anything about his prostate so far you might be ahead.

      • zeusiswatching says:

        This was one of the best stories you ever told too. I shared it with many a friend. Is the guy still around? I guess he’d be retired (and still celibate) by now.

  13. woo says:

    so far, so good on the prostate…

    ‘My albino ex’ is a great opening line, btw πŸ™‚

  14. woo says:

    Hi Zeusiswatching! Nice of you to drop by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

