Gross Grubs

If you are at all squeamish about revolting-looking invertebrates, look away now:

White Grub Larvae

These fat, white grubs were lurking in the soil of several potted plants on my balcony.

I had my suspicions that something untoward was going on – the plants were surviving but hardly thriving, despite adequate water, food and sunshine – so I re-potted them yesterday into larger pots and did a careful, finger-tip search of the root ball of each plant.

I found about 9 of these little fellows, which I carefully laid out on the balcony rail for the kookaburras, plus another three or four eggs which burst and splattered in my fingers as I sieved the soil through them.

*eeuuuwwwwww*

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gross Grubs

  1. Colm says:

    Awww! Likkle babies! So cute!

  2. modestypress says:

    Perhaps I should send you some slugs from the Pacific NW and you can send me some grubs from Oz. Sort of a cultural exchange to promote international understanding.

  3. azahar says:

    I like the purple pot. 🙂

  4. woo says:

    Colm – I bet you’d have been the little boy who threw worms at your sisters!

    Mr Random – You can have as many grubs as you like from here, but I’ll pass on the exchange, thanks.

    Azahar – thanks! I have green, blue and purple pots on my balcony. I think it looks quite cheerful. I’ll have to take some photos to show you.

  5. Grubs for the kookaburras! What a great idea. Your plants will start looking better quickly after their roots stop getting eaten.

  6. piereth says:

    Nice and fat – bet the Kookies were well chuffed!

  7. Just as well you got them when you did. Those little beasties grow and grow and eventually turn into politicians. Or merchant bankers.

  8. woo says:

    healingmagichands – you’re right, its win-win! The kookaburras were delighted (for once they had a real reason to laugh) and the plants are already looking perkier, without their root pests.

    piereth – they looked the way I feel after yum cha. Fat and slightly oily. 😉

    archiearchive – LOL.

Leave a Reply

