In Which I Am Pretentious

As I walked home from art class today, carrying my 100% recycled paper sketch pad, drinking my decaf soy latte, listening to Francis Cabrel on my iPhone and wondering whether to eat Japanese or Thai after yoga, I realized how unutterably pretentious and middle-class that was.

So I shuffled my playlist on to the Sex Pistols. Which made it worse.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In Which I Am Pretentious

  1. modestypress says:

    OK, Trucie-Woo, I will pretend that I really like you.

    Really, I do.

    Have I ever mentioned to you that in high school, my wife took a drama class with Sally Field?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sally_Field

    Really.

  2. piereth says:

    Yah, dahling, but you do it so WELL.

    If you’re going to be pretentious, do it RIGHT! πŸ™‚

  3. woo says:

    Mr Random – excellent, I like you, too. I am impressed by Mrs Random’s drama course. I can’t act to save my life.

    Piereth – thanks doll πŸ™‚

  4. Yes, but were you wearing organic cotton clothing and hemp shoes???

  5. sledpress says:

    I figure if you like stuff, it isn’t pretentious to enjoy it. Pretentious would be going to Yoga class just to say you did it.

  6. zeusiswatching says:

    It’s only pretentious if you think what you do makes yourself better than others.

    I’ll meet you at the sushi bar.

  7. pandemonic says:

    There is nothing wrong with being pretentious unless you’re a politician…

    πŸ™‚

  8. azahar says:

    I think you are just pretending to be pretentious. So there.

  9. Ha! I don’t think you’re pretentious; I think you’re “precious.” You totally deserve a smack.

  10. woo says:

    healingmagichands – well, not quite, although my jeans are made of organic cotton… πŸ˜‰

    sledpress – ah no, all that stuff is enjoyable. Certainly not done to impress. I gave that lark up years ago.

    Zeusiswatching – excellent, see you there – order some edamame beans to start us off…

    pandemonic – and since I am incurably open, I could never be a politician, so I’m safe from that at least.

    azahar – LOL! Quite right.

    David – Sometimes I think I’m precious, too. πŸ˜‰

  11. OmbudsBen says:

    Anarchy for the UK
    It’s coming sometime maybe
    I give a wrong time stop a traffic line
    Your future dream is a shopping scheme
    ‘Cause I wanna be anarchy

    It may appeal to the middle-class, but only to those ready to hatch.

  12. woo says:

    Ombudsben – Yeah! Rock on! πŸ™‚

  13. Raolin says:

    If you think you might be Pretentious then your not. Those who truly are have no clue.

    Like being crazy. If you are questioning your sanity then your actually ok. (you may be on the cusp however, better schedual a trip to the shrink just to be on the safe side)
    It the ones who BELIEVE they are doing nothing wrong who are Batcrap Crazy.

Leave a Reply

