Cor blimey, that's big, innit?

Olympus-Mons

Just came across this – an illo from one of our old books – which roughly illustrates the size difference between the highest mountain on Earth, Everest, and the highest mountain in our solar system, Olympus Mons, on Mars.

That canyon below sea level is Challenger Deep, part of the Marianas Trench, in the Pacific ocean. Again, deeper than Everest is tall.

Scale is something I struggle with, I confess. Big stuff is all just, well… big, you know? But, like, jeepers. That is BIG.

Here’s another, this time comparing the height of various waterfalls with the Empire State Building.

VG_RF_156_157_WATERFALLS_hr

I mean, fuck me, imagine standing on the street in the centre of your nearest city, looking up at the office block skyscrapers… and then imagine the biggest one turning into a waterfall.

Imagine the noise!

I love this kind of illustration. I like when pictures make sense of the world for me.

[Waterfalls L-R: Venezuela’s Angel Falls; Tugela Falls, South Africa; Yosemite, USA; Espelandsfoss, Norway]

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cor blimey, that's big, innit?

  1. azahar says:

    I love the waterfall illustration!

    The other one I can’t relate to at all … it’s just too mind-boggling.

  2. woo says:

    azahar – mind-boggling is right 😉

    Mr Random – I love Edward Tufte. I have three of his books. He is my hero. Well, him and David Attenborough and Sherlock Holmes and Vincent Van Gogh. And David. 🙂

  3. That is a serious mountain climb for someone. They will need more than a packed lunch for that trek 🙂

  4. woo says:

    Kinda makes you worry about Martians if that’s the kind of extreme sport they get up to, no?

  5. When you mentioned a number, my brain turned off. As far as I can tell, this post is about some things. And other things also.

  6. Yes, David, it is about some things – some BIIIG things. And other BIIIG things as well 😉

  7. woo says:

    David – as soon as I see numbers, other than dates, my brain turns off. That’s why I like the pictures.

    Archie – hit the nail on the head!

  8. doctordi says:

    That’s all mind-bending and makes me feel a bit faint.

Leave a Reply

