How Dare He?

I have just been shouted at by a senior* colleague.

Really, actually yelled at. In front of his two staff – at least one of whom is fairly regularly yelled at, I’m told.

I walked away and came back to my desk.

It made him look childish and unreasonable, and I hope I retained my dignity by refusing to stoop to shouting back… tempting though it was.

I’m more angry than upset, but should I:

a) apologise for walking out but explain that I won’t stay to be yelled at in the workplace

b) forget it

or

c) tell the boss – who is away on leave this week?

 

* senior in the sense that he is older than me and has been here longer, but he is in Sales and I’m in Creative, so I don’t report to him in any way. And I’m pretty senior myself.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How Dare He?

  1. piereth says:

    Don’t mention it again to your shouter, but do indeed mention it to your boss. Take contemporaneous or as near-contemporaneous notes as you can manage after the event, submit them to your boss and make the point that a) you won’t be shouted at by this man. b) it made you feel uncomfortable, and that is the first stage of proof in a workplace harassment case and c) this man is demoralising his own team and the office at large.

    What an utter wanker.

    Go girl! You work harder than anyone I know and don’t deserve rants and anger directed at you in a professional environment, no matter what this person thought the provocation was. Well done on not engaging him!!

    xxx

  2. Colm says:

    What piereth says. Absolutely.

  3. All that pierath said – and an anonymous thumbtack pointyside up on his office chair!

  4. doctordi says:

    What Piereth said. Frankly he owes you an apology, Woo, not the other way round.

  5. modestypress says:

    Listen to Piereth. Don’t listen to me. Everything has always gone badly for me on all my jobs.

  6. piereth says:

    @ archiearchive – too right. How about a snake in his drawer? 🙂

  7. woo says:

    Thanks everyone. Sincerely: it really helped knowing I had a cheering squad behind me yesterday.

    🙂

  8. I’m with Piereth, and certainly your boss should be notified of his behaviour. Certainly his own staff should not have to put up with that sort of crap either, and if no one tells the person in command, there will be no way for the situation to be rectified.

  9. Yes, definitely tell your boss, but don’t you dare apologize to that asshat.

  10. woo says:

    thanks folks – I have told my boss and she was understanding and apologetic on his behalf… clearly he won’t apologise himself, although he is treading extremely carefully around me now.

    And no, I didn’t apologise to that arsehat. Excellent term, I shall use it more often!

Leave a Reply

