Call me, damn you.

Tall Pilot Guy still hasn’t called me. Its now Wednesday morning, and we swapped numbers last Saturday.

What is he waiting for?

Bugger.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Call me, damn you.

  1. modestypress says:

    As a man, I won’t comment.

  2. Pete says:

    That sucks. Hope he calls soon.

  3. doctordi says:

    I know the Fugitive mooted this, but why don’t you call him?

  4. woo says:

    Nope. And not from lack of balls at this end, as it were. Its just that I need to know that the guy I’m seeing is a) interested enough to pursue the connection actively and b) has the balls to make a move.

    And I’m basing this on my own experience – any guy I’ve ever actively pursued has ended up just wanting to be friends, whereas the ones I’ve not bothered with for whatever reason, have turned out better. My theory is that people (by which I mean, men) only value something they have to work for. There’s a reason our grandmother’s told us not to be too ‘easy’… and they didn’t just mean ‘easy to get in the sack’.

    So, I’m trying to be nonchalent 😉

  5. doctordi says:

    Thirteen years ago this month, I blurted to my now husband at the office Christmas party that I had a bit of a thing for him. I take your point, Woo, I do, but sometimes I wonder if these Mexican standoffs between people who liked each other enough to exchange their real phone numbers aren’t just a big fat waste of everyone’s time. I’d rather know straight up, none of this riddle-me-that crap you’re currently experiencing. But everyone has their own methods as they navigate the madness – and you should stick with whatever feels right for you. Was there a date with TEG last night, hmmm?

    • woo says:

      Ordinarily – frankly in every situation other than this one, I would agree with you, Di. I dislike game-playing and am invariably straightforward and an incurable blurter. I have no problem showing or telling people how I feel about them.

      But I need to know if he’s just interested in being friends or actually wants to date me. I’ve been down the ‘think he’s interested when actually he just wants to be friends’ thing before. I have learnt to my cost that I am not good at reading signals, I need a clear statement of intent (which is why TEG kissing me was good, at least he knows what he wants, though he wasn’t pushy about it).

      TEG date #2 post coming up…

  6. modestypress says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/She%27s_Gotta_Have_It

    May or may not be relevant, unseen to you, or interesting.

  7. Grad says:

    Maybe he transposed the numbers. I bet right now he’s working out all the mathematical possibilities and running up an awful phone bill trying to find you. OR you can call him and say something like, “I’m sorry, but I found your number in my cell phone and I didn’t recognize the number. I was deleting some of the data, and didn’t want to erase a number I needed. How do I know you?”

  8. Pete says:

    Am also curious about how that second date with TEG went. Also, speaking as a guy who has already gone on about four dates with a girl I like (and who evidently likes me but is not showing it any physical way) I think it’s great if a girl is quite upfront about her needs! So there seems to be a need to hear from him so as to establish whether he’s interested or not but there’s also a need not to make yourself vulnerable by calling him? No pressure here, am just trying to understand.

  9. You know we’re all dying to hear about Date #2 with TEG, right? 🙂

  10. OmbudsBen says:

    I think you’re doing the right thing, Trucie. At this point, calm and independent will be far more attractive than seeming needy. Who knows–maybe he felt he’d seemed needy by walking around in front of your building and admitting to it.

    I hope your patience pays off.

    Stay cool, kiddo

  11. I hope you’re just on Xmas break, and that you weren’t the victim of some bizarre date abduction.

  12. modestypress says:

    Maybe they got married, and she is embarrassed to tell us about it.

    [This actually happened to someone I worked with. I might tell you about it in my blog some day, but you first have to come up for air and communicate with us, and then remind me I promised to tell the story. You have to do this before I succumb to dementia.]

Leave a Reply

