Okay, this will have to be quick

Just a brief update as I’m posting this via my iPhone from the UK and it will probably cost the equivalent of the GDP of Belgium…

Before I left Sydney I had not one, but two further dates with Twinkly Eyed Guy.

Date #2: we watched Pulp Fiction at the outdoor Moonlight Cinema. It even rained a little – unusual for Sydney – and so we huddled under the picnic blanket which, in true Aussie Fully-Prepared-For-The-Outdoors style, was waterproof. Kind of romantic actually, or would have been had I not been a little too aloof and reserved in an attempt to take things more slowly…

Anyway, after that I felt bad, so Date #3 I invited him over to my neighbourhood for dinner a couple of nights before I left and he was happy to pop over… on his motorbike… after spending the day doing his volunteer surf life-saving shift.

I know, right?

How did it go? It went well. No sex, and no staying over, which I was clear about and he accepted with good grace. But, you know, some good tampering.

So, we’ll see how we pick it up when I get back.

And as for Tall Pilot Guy; I got fed up waiting for him to call so I texted him and invited him to the cinema – he’d actually already left Sydney to spend the holidays with his family and was under the impression that I had, too, but seemed keen to get together when we both get back.

So we’ll see on that front, also…

In the meantime, I’m back ‘home’ in Blighty, enjoying spending time with my sisters and looking forward to seeing my brother and friends in the next week or so. It is cold, grey and dismally drizzly here which has reinforced why living in sunny Sydney is SO much better for my physical and mental well-being.

I hope you’ve had a good Christmas, and that you welcome in the New Year in whatever style best suits you. I’ll be with several old friends and my god-daughter in a draughty but impressive country house in Deepest Gloucestershire. Think ‘Miss Marple’ and you’ll doubtless be able to picture not only the house and grounds but the guests, too.

I shall try and post photos… Tally ho!

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Okay, this will have to be quick

  1. David says:

    Whew! I’m glad you’re OK, with good news, and on holiday. I was pretty sure that Piereth wouldn’t be posting cheerfully over at her site if you’d been dismembered by one of your dates, but you know me — nothing if not paranoid.

    Looking forward to hearing more about your dating adventures when you get back from the drizzle. 🙂

  2. OmbudsBen says:

    Think ‘Miss Marple’ …

    Okay, but without the murders, all right?

    Happy to hear that your prospects are looking up, Trucie. 🙂

  3. piereth says:

    Crikey, no dismemberment for the Woo, godbethankit. You’d need silver bullets and Mercury in retrograde, for starters. Wooo isss… THE WERE-RABBIT!

    Ahhhh–OOOOOOOO *thumpathumpathump*

  4. azahar says:

    Great to hear from you! And glad you had a couple of nice dates and are now enjoying some happy family holiday time.

    ¡Feliz Año Nuevo!

    (whoah, long post for an iPhone – impressive!)

  5. Good for the dates! And hope your trip is wonderful. Surely it will be, with family and all around you.

  6. Hey, thanks for the update! I was wondering how your dating life was progressing. Sounds promising. I hope your holidays are great!

  7. doctordi says:

    Lovely! All very pleasing on the dating front, too. Now just enjoy what’s left of this reinforcement excursion and get back to Sydney where you belong. Happy New Year! xx

Leave a Reply

