Schrodinger's Cat Nap

I’ve just realised that I could curl up and sleep under my new desk, and nobody would be able to see me. I’d totally get away with it. Probably.

I moved into another building on Monday and I have the room to myself, plus a big L-shaped desk with a panel along the front that reaches the floor. I’m in the corner, furthest from the door and nobody can even tell if I’m sitting at my desk (because my iMac screen is so enormous that I’m almost entirely hidden by it) unless they walk all the way over and look behind the screen.

Its the perfect set-up, I tell you.

Of course, I’ll never actually try it because I’m too conscientious/riddled with protestant work-ethic guilt. But still.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Schrodinger's Cat Nap

  1. In an emergency it will be very useful. Think about how you could avoid people you didn’t wish to see.

  2. Colm says:

    You have one of the really big Mac displays? I’m envious.. They are terrific. I’m still waiting for those big transparent wraparound displays that were being shown on Avatar..

  3. “conscientious/riddled with protestant work-ethic guilt” is all very well until it is time to cat nap. Then a short time of “so-whatedness” is necessary for one’s sanity.

    A small cushion would fit under the desk and would make a perfect pillow. Several more, brought in over time, would make for a comfortable little nest. If you are ever found under your desk, you were “simply looking for a paperclip which had escaped”.

  4. sledpress says:

    I used to literally, actually do that when I worked for a “progressive, worker-friendly” contracting firm whose oh-so-countercultural and politically correct core management treated me like dirt. It was my frail revenge until I could get out of there.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      hmmm, I’m always suspicious of firms who have to actively proclaim that they are ‘worker-friendly’ – its like a man telling you he’s a feminist – actions speak louder than words…

  5. Hi, Trucie. We subscribe to Garrison Keillor’s “Writer’s Almanac” and the poem he posted yesterday made me think of you.

    http://www.elabs7.com/functions/message_view.html?mid=939794&mlid=499&siteid=20130&uid=1beb77da70

    • Norwichrocks says:

      what a wonderful poem! And it certainly resonates. Though, thankfully, I don’t have near enough ex’s to have rows of them in shoeboxes… 😉

  6. OmbudsBen says:

    During my first dozen years working in an office, I learned old school office decorum. Hell, my first job, the profesionals were expected to wear ties and never brown bag lunch, always eating out–things had just liberalized in that they weren’t required to wear white shirts, too.

    Then I got into publishing. In my first couple weeks at 1 job I brought a file into the two editors’ office. One sat nervously at his PC, as I went to the other’s desk. She was sleeping under it. She had worked all night.

    I was quite surprised. In silence, I left the documents on her chair and walked out. Since then, I’ve noticed a lot of the old office decorum has melted away. Younger employees decorate their desks with toys and figurines, whole little armies of plastic soldiers and dinosaurs–I’d never seen that in the past.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Mmm, I pulled more than a couple of all-nighters in a previous job/life, working in London for a disabled children’s charity. In my twenties I could do that and still put in a full-day’s work the following day. Not any more! If I’m awake past midnight on a school night now I can barely keep my eyes open past 3pm the next day.

  7. OmbudsBen says:

    What you need is some device to tell you when someone enters the room. A motion detector connected to an ear piece that sings the Beatles’ “Good morning! Good morning!” when you have company.

    Then when they stand in your office looking around puzzled you can calmly say, from under the desk, “I do some of my best thinking while down here.”

Leave a Reply

