The Universe Has Two Hands: One To Stroke And One To Punch

So, on the one hand, I met one of my heroes and he turned out to be fully deserving of my admiration: on the other hand, I met my new (cute) downstairs neighbour – Danish Biochemist Chap – as a result of my washing machine flooding my flat and raining water down through his ceiling.

Not the most auspicious of openers, but at least he has my number now, right? [In more ways than one, clearly]

Then again, on the one hand, a friend tells me that Tall Pilot Guy definitely regarded our cinema outing as a date and that he’s “a bit muddled with life, the kind of guy who just needs a woman to take charge” and let’s face it, I am that kind of woman – so much so, in fact, that I have spent a considerable part of the last 20 years trying not to be that woman since most people are put off by women who are too bossy: but on the other hand, when I text him to invite him for another date, he can’t make the two nights I suggest and says he is out of town this week and “can’t even suggest an alternate in near future sorry. One day soon!”.

The only logical conclusion being, therefore, that if he does want a woman to take control, said woman is not me.

And finally, on the one hand I have a great deal to be thankful for – I am healthy, gainfully employed, surrounded by kind friends, the sun is shining etc etc – yet on the other hand I am feeling a bit blue, to be honest. Experiencing a bit of a slump.

Probably just a little over-tired and in need of something exciting to look forward to. Maybe I’ll use my airmiles and credit card to book myself a diving holiday on the Great Barrier Reef in June when the minke whale are there…

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Universe Has Two Hands: One To Stroke And One To Punch

  1. azahar says:

    I sure wish I had all the time back that I wasted analysing men and trying to figure out WHY they did the things they did (or didn’t do).

    There’s a lesson in there somewhere, young lady!

    Enjoy the minks whales. And the sunshine…

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Good point. But men are so unaccountable, I just don’t get them at all, whereas I’m usually spot on when it comes to the motivation and actions of women. Its so frustrating!

  2. But women are so unaccountable, I just don’t get them at all, whereas I’m usually spot on when it comes to the motivation and actions of men. Its so frustrating!

    [darfc]

Leave a Reply

