On a happier note…

1. I have succeeded in growing my first ever lemons. Two of them. They’re on a baby tree in a pot on the balcony outside my office window. Those of you from the northern hemisphere will appreciate the exotic joy of this – though those of you native to sunnier climes probably remain unimpressed.

2. Danish Biochemist, my new downstairs neighbour, invited me to join him and some friends for a bbq on Sunday. They were all Danish scientists… which I’m beginning to think may, in fact, be the ideal combination of human traits: they’re warm and well-mannered with impeccable English, as are all Scandiwegians, and at the same time they are practical and intelligent and curious about the world.

I really rather like this guy. And his friends. And their children.

3. I got a good payrise yesterday. 7%. I’m happy about it. Hopefully it should mean that I’ll be able to have an actual holiday for myself this year, as well as heading back to the UK for my annual visit to friends and family. I’ll also clear my credit cards which took quite a bashing at the end of last year what with Christmas and flights back to Blighty etc.

4. Still no resolution to the job title issue though. What do I do all day? I will be continuing to commission and manage our illustrations and photos as well as managing our move into digital content. I’ll also carry on working on our RnD projects in development.

On top of that, and in order to address the problem of my role being somewhat outside the ‘normal’ editorial career path in publishing, I will be Project Managing and acting as Editor on our new Animal Planet children’s Animal Atlas title this year.

All of which is great – varied and creative and interesting – but is rather too broad for the traditional job titles within publishing.

Perhaps even more trickily: we also have to tread carefully so as not to upset the feelings of others in the office – especially our current Senior Editor who is 20 years older than me and very jealous of her perceived position. The fact that she will never progress beyond the level she’s currently at is rather beside the point – I still have to work with her and I don’t wish to hurt her feelings or embarrass her.

So basically, we need to find a couple of words which sum up four things:

i) Art or Images

ii) RnD or Development or Digital or New Media

iii) Project Management and Editorial

iv) Seniority and parity with others in different roles at a similar level

… We’re stumped.

5. I’m feeling okay today but I had a couple of distinctly low and wobbly, over-emotional and apathetic days over the weekend. I think I’m over-tired and in need of a holiday and some proper food.

My dinner last night consisted of a bowl of coco pops, a multi-vitamin and mineral supplement, a fish oil capsule, a probiotic and an anti-histamine (I’ve been bitten again). For dessert I finished off a bag of crisps left over from the weekend. Oh, and I drank about a litre of water.

Dreadful, isn’t it? I did have steak and salad for lunch though – I tend to eat a proper meal for lunch and then can’t be bothered with dinner. I shall make more of an effort to cook this week…

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On a happier note…

  1. piereth says:

    Congratulations! Richly deserved – kinda puts Norwich employment experiences into proper perspective, no?! You RAWK! xxxx

  2. azahar says:

    EAT girl. That’s an order.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Yes, ma’am. I’m going to a lovely Italian place with three colleagues for lunch so I promise to have something healthy and properly filling.

      I also promise to bitch about the treacherous colleague and eye-up the cute blonde waiter 😉

  3. “My dinner last night consisted of a bowl of coco pops, a multi-vitamin and mineral supplement, a fish oil capsule, a probiotic and an anti-histamine (I’ve been bitten again).” You know, my dear, if your dinners often consist of such crap as coco pops, it may account for a few low, wobbly over-emotional and apathetic times. Coco pops!?? Have you read the ingredients of these things?

    Congratulations on the pay raise. Hope that the recognition that is being made in such a concrete way will help put the treacherous cow in perspective.

  4. doctordi says:

    Love lemons, Danes, and pay-rises, but will have to give that elusive job title a wee bit more thought…

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Yes, the lemons, Danes and payrise are all jolly welcome. As will be your thoughts on the job title…

  5. I want to grow lemons. This desire is one of my main motivations for wanting a year round greenhouse.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      They really are the most gorgeous plants, too, quite apart from the fruit. The leaves are glossy and the flowers smell heavenly, and they seem to thrive on neglect!

  6. OmbudsBen says:

    I think you’re right about the neglect. We have a poor little twice-moved lemon tree in our backyard which battles a butterfly bush and a marguerite for space. It’s somewhat misshapen, bushy at the best with one tall branch rising upward. Will you post a picture of it for us?

  7. OmbudsBen says:

    How about “Visual Media Manager”?

Leave a Reply

