The hidden influence of social networks

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The hidden influence of social networks

  1. I’m very glad I spent the time to listen to this talk. It has given me much food for thought, especially the theme of how the network affects the individuals. I have been wondering lately just exactly why the fact that I got busy and lost 40 pounds has seemed to affect the people around me, and I see how the network I am imbedded in both influenced me and now my imbeddedness influenced others in the vicinity. The fact is, the network of friends I am imbedded in has become thinner in the last year, and the last obese holdout is aggressively dieting.

    Anyway, I’ll have something to think about other than weeds when I am out in the garden today.

  2. Norwichrocks says:

    Yes, it was a fascinating insight into our collective connections, wasn’t it? I’ve been thinking about it a great deal, too. I’m definitely one of the people who creates a strong web of connections around them – I introduce my friends to one another and network socially as well as professionally. Which means I am embedded in a pretty diverse network. And yet, almost uniquely among all my connections, I am single and childless, don’t have a problem with my weight and I’m have never been hooked on alcohol, nicotine or caffeine.

Leave a Reply

