Er, what?

Yes, okay, atoms consist of electrons orbiting a nucleus of neutrons and protons, got it. Have even illustrated it. And they’re made of quarks? Yup, right, I follow you. (Although I don’t care what quarks are made of, stop already, they’re tiny enough) But trying to establish the radius of a proton by replacing an electron with a muon and bashing it with a laser to see how much it moves… er, what? Sorry, you lost me.

Can’t you just draw me a picture of it?

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Er, what?

  1. modestypress says:

    You’re making this up, right? Or at least Alice and the White Rabbit are involved with it somewhere?

  2. Well – I could – but that would take all the mystery out of it. For instance, you would see the strings controlling Alice and the White Rabbit. And the reason for the looking glass would become obvious.

  3. So you are involved in a quantum physics discussion or article somehow?

    For more than you ever wanted to know about quantum physics presented in a non-mathematical and very philosophical way, I highly recommend “The Dancing Wu Li Masters” by Gary Zukov. And yes, there are pictures.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Believe it or not, this is a proposed spread for a children’s book on science discoveries… I have to make this visually clear for a 10 year old.

      I’m off to find a copy of that book you recommend right now!

      • modestypress says:

        Well, as you know, Random Granddaughter is very bright, though only six years old. However, about a year ago, she asked us (the grandparents) about Albert Einstein. I think I provided more information than was really wanted.

        However, her artistic talent seems to be blossoming. She drew a very nice drawing of our garden the other day. I will suggest that she work on a quantum physics project.

  4. Colm says:

    I can draw you the offside rule. Does that help?

Leave a Reply

