multi-media memories

So, what have I been up to? I’m glad you asked.

Firstly, I entertained a chap I hadn’t seen in 19 years. (I know, right, 19 years? Sheesh, I’m getting old). He was in the year below me in college, a friend of my brother, and is now the tour manager for a band who are on a world tour. The tour came to Sydney last week and we caught up. I wasn’t looking forward to it because a) I didn’t know him terribly well 19 years ago and b) its 19 years later. I envisaged an awkward half hour of “Oh, and did you know that Jane is married now and has two children?” kind of smalltalk before I could make my excuses and flee.

However, as it turns out, I have rarely enjoyed a man’s company so much. We talked and walked on a 6 hour pub crawl through Sydney, including a short stop by the Opera House to film two short pieces of video that I cannot for the life of me figure out how to upload here. Damn.

Here’s a photo instead:

If you know me, you’ll know how deeply unusual such behaviour is for me. I had three glasses of wine and a pint of cider, for goodness sake, and I normally hate pubs and alcohol.

2. Our esteemed CEO retires today, after 25 years with this company, starting as a junior editor. I can’t tell you how much I admire and respect, as well as just plain like, her.

I’ve coordinated a scrapbook of messages and tributes from the various authors, editors, designers, publishers, sales reps, artists and printers from around the world with whom she has worked during her career. Some of them are really rather touching. It warms the cockles to see how far and wide her influence has reached and how very sincerely she is esteemed.

Of course, I’ve also organised flowers and a present (a framed artwork that she has always liked from a book published 20 years ago). And I’ve put together the attached powerpoint slide show of hilariously altered images. Oh, I crack myself up.

Farewell

And now I have to go and prep for the party. I’ll have to upload the rest of the pics and the video on Monday.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to multi-media memories

  1. modestypress says:

    Wonderful.

    When an excellent boss (one of the few I ever had) left his job (head of a computer school), we (his employees) made a video to see him off. All I remember is a segment of me teaching a class of intent students. At the end it shows every student’s screen displays solitaire.

    Glad to hear you had a nice night out, as well. Please don’t get eaten by a Great White when diving.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Oh, we had a video too – the CEO of our sister company in San Francisco sent a video of him serenading her. And when I say serenading, I mean, er, singing. Kind of.
      ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. sledpress says:

    Love the “Sheena in 150,000 B.C.” slide.

    You usually don’t drink and had three glasses and a pint? Have you found your head yet?

    • Norwichrocks says:

      That’s my favourite slide too! I had such fun making them. Didn’t even have a hangover either. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hooray for fun and games and sometimes drinking too much! So glad you had a good time.

    I loved the powerpoint presentation, and I’m sure Sheena will too. Have a great party.

  4. Love the PPS.

    Good onya for the fun and games. Well deserved.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Thanks – yes, the vino did flow rather freely as everyone has been working SO HARD recently. Well, except our Receptionist who is useless… don’t get me started.

  5. OmbudsBen says:

    Cockles. What have they to do with hearts? You’ve once again made me etymologically curiouser and curiouser:

    http://www.worldwidewords.org/qa/qa-coc2.htm

    You should have a new coat of arms: moths & cockles.

  6. Hopefully the new CEO will be somewhat lovable as well. Changing of the guard … always a tricky prospect.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Oddly, I’ve always liked change. Bring it on, I say – much as I like and respect the previous CEO, I have seemingly boundless confidence that the change will be positive.

      Having said that, there are several people who are crapping their pants at the prospect of this big change – not because they fear anything specific, just because they dislike change.

  7. doctordi says:

    Oh, I *love* it when something duty-bound exceeds all expectations – that’s excellent, he sounds like great company and what’s a few drinks between friends?!

    What a thoughtful and touching farewell – she must have been so moved by all your efforts, and it sounds like she’s a very deserving recipient of them. I’m with you, though – I embrace change. Love it.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a lovely evening. The more so as it was completely un-anticipated.

      Bring on the change! The new MD starts on Monday and I’ve just had my job description written in time for her first day. The list of duties fills an entire sheet of A4.

  8. dlelkind says:

    Are you belatedly discovering alcohol? Has the world turned on its axis? That’s the THIRD time of late I’ve seen/heard of you imbibing. I am shocked, SHOCKED.

    Whoo! Welcome to the dark side Woo. x

Leave a Reply

