Holy Annals, Batman

1300 of my very favourite books (plus assorted odds and ends) have just arrived on a container ship from the UK.
Yes, 1300. And that’s after a ruthless cull of any and all I could bear to part with before I left.
I need more shelves. Hell, I need a library.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Holy Annals, Batman

  1. piereth says:

    Fantastic! But on the bookcase requirement – know what you mean, love. It’s an urgent and unsolved problem!

  2. sledpress says:

    I can’t stand the thought of ever moving again for a lot of reasons but the insulation layer of books jacketing most walls of my house is up near the top of the list.

    I crack up whenever I see tasteful little shelves and storage units for sale that clearly hold about fifty books at most. Usually they are displayed with about fifteen volumes and a couple of sea shells taking up the slack, you know the kind of thing?

    • Norwichrocks says:

      God, yes. A classic indicator of a non-reader: shelf space slack. My middle sister’s shelves are like that – all ornaments and the occasional hard back gift book. *shudder*

  3. azahar says:

    Wow! How exciting! πŸ™‚

  4. Colm says:

    1300? That’s phenomenal. I’m similar, usually heading into town on an urgent errand, only to get stuck in a bookshop somewhere..

    • Norwichrocks says:

      There’s a brilliant little bookshop on the street where I work – tiny and cramped but filled with unexpected delights. I simply cannot walk past it without going in, and I can’t go in without buying something.

  5. 1300 volumes – yummmmm.

    Silly question – how many did you decide against bringing out?

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Well, I think I donated to charity about 300 books before I came out, and since I’ve been here I’ve similarly donated about 120 to the local volunteer community library. But they’re still accumulating faster than I can pass them on.

  6. modestypress says:

    I am surprised the entire British Isles did not arrive in a container. Or, at the very least, the British Museum. Or at the very least, a few shelves from the British Museum.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Oh, believe me, if their security wasn’t so tight, several whole cases of artifacts would now be gracing my humble abode. Starting with the Greek black figure ware.

  7. doctordi says:

    Oh wow – how exciting and intimidating!!!! What you need is the wall-to-wall I also have to get custom built…

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Yep, I have a dream that one day I’ll own a room with floor-to-ceiling bookshelves on all four walls, except for one corner turret with a (comfortably padded) window seat. πŸ™‚

  8. That’s impressive. Floor-to-ceiling custom-built is the only way to go.

  9. Norwichrocks says:

    Agreed. Tricky to install in a rented apartment, though. πŸ˜‰

  10. The book shelf thing is a real issue. A while back Jim made some that he found the plans for in a woodworking magazine. The title of the article was “Bookshelves in about a day”. What a laugh riot. it was more like about two weeks, but the shelves are wonderful in that they are free standing and stable, have seven shelves (almost reach floor to ceiling) and slide together like the dividers in cases of wine and so are easy to take apart for moving. The whole shelving system deconstructs into a pile of boards about 14 inches thick.

    There is a good picture of them on this post: http://healingmagichands.wordpress.com/2008/12/07/a-new-meme-whats-on-your-book-shelves/

    I don’t know if you have any handy friends, but these shelves were not that hard to construct at all, and are quite useful.

Leave a Reply

