Eager Anticipation

Suddenly, there are so many cool things to look forward to, I’m fairly jigging about with pleasurable anticipation.

1. I’m off back to England in 8 days time to meet my newest niece, Colette, and to catch up with my other niece, Beatrice, and all the rest of my family, as well as one or two dear friends. My delight at the prospect is somewhat tempered by the fact that I won’t be able to see everyone I’d like to see – I simply won’t have time – nonetheless, I’m hugely looking forward to it. I’ve already decided which films I’m going to watch on the flight, and I’m taking the work iPad with me on which is the whole of The Wire seasons 1-5.

2. The Festival of Dangerous Ideas is back. Last year’s festival was brilliant – Germaine Greer on ‘Freedom Is The Most Dangerous Idea Of All’ was a real highlight – and this year I’ve booked tickets for four sessions. Bring. It. On.

3. Sydney’s IMAX cinema will soon be showing ‘Hubble 3D’. Can you even imagine what the pictures from the Hubble space telescope will look like in 3D? Just the ‘ordinary’ stills pretty much blow my mind.

4. A friend of mine – one of ‘my’ illustrators over here, in fact – has come up with a bloody brilliant idea for a new book on dinosaurs. I am determined that we should publish it, even though its slightly outside our normal list, and I’m having all kinds of fun helping him work up a synopsis and storyboard to present to our new Publisher and MD next month.

5. I won a free massage (I decided that the main reason I never win anything is because I never enter anything, logical, no? So I have taken to dropping my business card in every jar on offer locally). I’m off to be pleasantly pummeled for an hour by my physio. 🙂

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Eager Anticipation

  1. Colm says:

    I hope you have a great trip back to Blighty.

    Re the Festival of Dangerous Ideas, Isn’t there a TAM Australia happening in November or somesuchwhen?

    And Hubble 3D? I’m in awe.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Thanks Colm!

      Oh, is there? Cool, I’d love to attend TAM Australia. Will check it out…

      You would LOVE Hubble 3D, I’m sure. Maybe it will come to Eire, too…

  2. Hubble 3D – total envy! AND a Festival of Dangerous Ideas. Is the festival in Sydney or back in Blighty?

  3. piereth says:

    I’m sure you won’t have time to fit us in – but we love you loads. I have a plan xxxx

    • Norwichrocks says:

      I love you loads, too. Especially if you have a plan – I love it when a plan comes together… Hopefully this plan involves you, M and R coming over to Aus for a visit soon???!!!! 😉

  4. sledpress says:

    Good massage???

    I’m reminded of the Jewish joke about the guy who implores God repeatedly to let him just once win the lottery, just enough to retire on, and one day the Voice Of God fills the room and says “Shmuel, meet me half way. Buy a ticket.”

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Great massage, thanks. *ahhhhh* I spend too much time hunched over a hot novel and my neck and shoulders tend to get far too tight.

      Love the joke – the whole idea of ‘can’t win if you don’t even enter’ basically reminds me of all the trite aphorisms that were pinned up around the walls of my school. However, much as they were annoying, many are true and I should probably pay more attention to their folksy wisdom.

  5. doctordi says:

    That’s a lovely plump basket of eggs!

  6. azahar says:

    This all sounds quite wonderful – very excited for you!

  7. OmbudsBen says:

    “the whole of The Wire seasons 1-5”

    Man, that long flight gets surreal by the end. I can handle 3, 4, 5 hours on a plane but by the time it gets to 7, 8, 9 hours I get near-hallucinatory cabin fever. I suppose a massive dose of a series you like is the best approach.

    We’re thinking about a trip to Venice/Vienna/Prague/Berlin and maybe Stockholm but I’ll only do it if we stay a while, to make the roundtrip worthwhile. I hope you’re having a great trip … and some day the home office calls you to the city by SF bay.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Surreal is the only way to describe it, you’re right. I swear I was talking to myself by the end of it…

      Luckily, though, I don’t suffer much from jet lag.

      And i certainly hope to make it over to SF in 2011 – I’ll come up with some spurious work-related reason to justify it 😉

Leave a Reply

