Budgeting: This Is How We Do It

Dear Bosses,

when you ask me to estimate the illustration and photo costs of projects, I do so.

You are, of course, entirely free to ignore those estimates and enter any (lower) figure in the project’s PnL budget, and then to base your judgement as to whether said project is financially feasible on that (spurious) sum.

However, when the invoices come in and the actual image spend of the project becomes manifest you will note that the costs tally fairly closely with my initial estimates.

That is why you pay me. I know what I’m taking about. I’m basing my assumptions on going rates and previous experience rather than PULLING FIGURES OUT OF MY ARSE which is what you are apparently doing.

Yours sincerely,

Images Muppet.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Budgeting: This Is How We Do It

  1. Colm says:

    Hear hear. The endless conflict between fantasy and reality. It’s why Dilbert is so popular, I think.

  2. piereth says:

    Oh, Joy. Bosses who employ you, don’t believe you and then will try and BLAME you. Hermitry never looked so appealing.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Oh don’t start me on the way they say “That sounds very expensive. I’m sure you could get that artwork done more cheaply.”

      Er, no. You could get AN artwork done more cheaply, but not THIS artwork. This is detailed, accurate and beautiful, hence time-consuming and demanding a certain level of skill.

      Peanuts and monkeys…

  3. modestypress says:

    Been there, threw up my lunch there. No time to expand at the moment.

  4. Oy vey. I believe this is possibly why I never made it in a corporate environment. The dichotomy between fantasy and reality was just too hard for me to fathom.

    Sounds like your bosses have never tried to create artwork. Even on my limited level Ihave learned that anything really beautiful takes time; lots of time.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Exactly! ‘Anything really beautiful takes time’… and time costs money.

      I’d like to see any of them subsisting on the kind of income most illustrators have to make do with.

  5. A great rant is a great stress-reliever.

    A quote from a report on this year’s “Ig-Nobels”, “A more scientific view of the business world was rewarded with the management prize, which went to researchers at the University of Catania, Italy, for “demonstrating mathematically that organisations would become more efficient if they promoted people at random”.

    Leave that lying around for your bosses to discover 🙂

    • Norwichrocks says:

      And there’s me thinking that this organisation had been promoting people at random… or at least, by a process of elimination – whomever is still here after the rest (more skilled, more ambitious, more capable) people have quit, gets promoted. 🙂

  6. sledpress says:

    This is why I would rather drape tastefully around four or five ass-cracks a day, and wash the sheets after, than work in an office.

Leave a Reply

