In which I follow my first impulse

1. There was a matt black Yamaha R1 parked outside the back of our office today. It was beautiful. I admired it. I wanted it. So I took out one of my business cards on the way past at lunchtime, wrote ‘Nice bike. Give me a ride?’ and stuck it in the faring. Much to the apparent horror of my friends, I might add.

I didn’t really expect a response but I got one. The chap called to say he’d seen me looking at his bike and would be happy to give me a ride. So, Sunday afternoon I get to put the leathers, boots and helmet that recently arrived in the shipment of my belongings from the UK to good use once again.

And yes, I know motorbikes are dangerous. That’s part of their appeal. But I’m not responsible for anyone else – I don’t have kids or aged parents relying on me – so I can afford to be selfish and irresponsible. I’ll do what I like.

2. As I walk to work I pass underneath Harbour Bridge. Lots of people commute by bike over the bridge every day; scores of them ride past me at the junction with Lavender Street. Today I shouted “Race! Race! Race!” at a group of about eight guys as they neared me. Three of them grinned and stood up out of their seats, pedalling harder and faster to put on a burst of speed and beat the others round the bend.

I am now considering getting up earlier to do that every day. Maybe I could get my participation rate up above 3:8.

I wonder how long before the novelty wears off – both for me and for the hyper-competitive cyclists?

3. I was going to wear a nice blouse with tiny flowers on it to work today. Instead, I opted for my new zombie attack tshirt. I felt like a survivor all day.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In which I follow my first impulse

  1. robodad says:

    Pictures of the zombie shirt, please 🙂

    I will be picking up my new (used) motorcycle tomorrow. And I *do* have people who depend on me. Life insurance is awesome.

    It will be quite an adjustment. The trickiest part will be to find just the right blood alcohol level so I can keep my buzz and STILL get all three kids on the motorcycle with me.

  2. azahar says:

    Ha! You go grrrrlfriend! 🙂

    I also want to see the zombie shirt…

  3. sledpress says:

    Third vote for the shirt. I think people who ride bicycles, to say nothing of motorcycles, are insane, but there are more pernicious forms of insanity, I dare say.

    I get periodically accosted at the gym by Arnoldo, a Salvadoran refugee of 1980s vintage who can’t even speak Spanish intelligibly much less English. He arrives on a bike festooned with skulls, chains and every other damn thing, and looks so alarming — foaming dreadlocks, jail tattoos, silver tooth, thighs for arms — that most people don’t realize he’s sort of a pussycat. Yesterday he leaned on my (stationary) bike, grinning like a jack o’lantern, and asked me if I liked riding motorcycles. It is the only thing he ever said or did that scared me.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Send him my way. I love a man with dreads, tats and a motorcycle… unless they also have really poor hygiene and a paunch.

  4. modestypress says:

    When I was young, I thought it would be cool to ride a motorcycle. I also was aware that I would kill or mutilate myself in a short time. My brother also thought it would be cool to ride a motorcycle. He bought a very nice BMW. He rode it for about a year or so. One day he took a spill. He was not seriously injured, though scrape a little. He picked himself up, said to himself, “OK, Dude, you have had your fun, but you know, a guy could kill himself this way,” and sold the bike. So there you go. No matter where you go, there you are.

  5. 1. You are awesome. I love the fact that he saw you admiring the bike, it is such a romantic vignette. I also love how gutsy that was, and how you just went for it. I think that leaving a business card with a note was simply fantastic. What’s the point of being single if you can’t be a little daring now and again?

    2. Perhaps you should start giving out favors . . .

    3. Zombie Attack definitely beats tiny flower, especially in October.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      1. You, too. 🙂

      2. Yeah, they could each have a lance and a shield and we could do the thing properly.

      3. You are so right.

  6. Let’s see, leathers and boots and helmet in your belongings. . . you have been a biker babe before, I take it. What a great thing you did, that spur of the moment business card! This is how you accidentally run into Important People in your life, you realize, right? Have an awesome ride.

    I used to have a boyfriend lo these many decades ago who toted me about on the back of a motorcycle. It was so much fun! I think that is why people still ride the machines even though they are dangerous.

    I think it is interesting that Daisyfae just got a new bike and was thrilling all about it, and now you have been drawn to the same sort of thing. Must be some bike energy out there. . .

    I want to see the t-shirt too, but I have no idea what Zombie Attack is, I must go google it now.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Ah yes, I’ve had two previous boyfriends with bikes. In fact, looking back, it was probably the bike I was attracted to, rather than the boy. Which explains a lot. 😉

      I’m uploading a pic I took of me at my desk wearing the shirt right now…

  7. Love the motorcycle story! It reminds me a little of a guy I used to know who owned a tandem bike who would pick up women by riding around with a sign on the second seat saying “Stoker Wanted.” Your method is much cooler. I wish my balance were good enough to ride a motorcycle — they always appeal to me.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      I knew a guy with a bike who wore a tshirt that read – on the back, obviously – “If you can read this, the bitch fell off”.

      Nice.

  8. doctordi says:

    Well, I think that is very cool. And I admire your chutzpah – which has been justifiably rewarded. Besides, who wants a life without risk?

  9. piereth says:

    Goddess ROCKS! You are amazing – and I love the impulse that made you card a hot motorbike. Have a wunnerful burnup, hunny! xxx

  10. Sounds like a lot of living in the moment – way to go!

    (also interested in the t)

Leave a Reply

