Well, that tradition didn't last long

So much for my new Friday tradition of regaling you with hilarious images gleaned from my week’s picture research. I was so behind on Friday that I didn’t get chance to post. Today isn’t much better since I seem to have spent the better part of both days interviewing keen young designers… of which, more anon.

However, I do have this image – which I simply cannot look at without wanting to yawn*

And this one, which I cannot look at. At all. *shudder*

Yep, those are Madagascan Hissing Cockroaches. Which is a great pity since I’ve always rather fancied visiting Madagascar and have now struck it off my list With Extreme Prejudice.

*although they’re actually engaged in a threat display – whoever has the widest gape, wins, apparently… an activity which ought to be introduced to meetings here, IMHO.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Well, that tradition didn't last long

  1. azahar says:

    Ha, made me yawn too.

    And this made me queasy… Amusement park squashes cockroach eating contest

  2. Didn’t make me yawn, but it’s only 6:30 a.m. here; not really in yawning mode just yet.

    I’m sure there are places in Madagascar without those cockroaches, but that image was enough to put me off the place too,

    • Norwichrocks says:

      Well, see, for me, the lemurs and chameleons in Madagascar would almost make up for the hissing cockroaches. Almost. But not quite. 😉

  3. piereth says:

    Look! It’s me and Rowan yawning and scratching!! Look how I can rotate my wickle ears, lala xx

  4. sledpress says:

    I think a similar threat display occurs in most national legislatures.

    • Norwichrocks says:

      And in some gyms…

      • sledpress says:

        Don’t get me started, yesterday morning I almost truncated the love-life of a guy who felt he had to do dumbbell flyes in bad form three feet in front of the glute-ham bench where I was working; had to ask him twice to stop waving a pair of 25-pounders at my head…

    • Norwichrocks says:

      If a cockroach that big had a hissy fit, I’d run screaming for my mother. Not that she’d be any help, but its an instinct in such dire situations.

  5. I think I would rather have a cockroach have a hissy fit at me than a Hippo!

  6. That reminds me … someday I must take a moment to tell the story, on my blog, of the strange misfortune that befell a man who bought a car from my dad, some years ago. It’s relevant to picture #1.

Leave a Reply

