If an ark floated past right now I wouldn’t be at all surprised

1. When it rains here, it really rains. The Sydney cloud taps have just two settings: either fully closed or fully open and pouring oceans down the streets, there’s none of this English drizzle nonsense.

2. I’ve been invited to a party on Friday night… to celebrate the royal wedding. Lawks. I thought moving to the other side of the bloody planet would mean an escape from such utter crap, but apparently I was wrong. The British Middle Class are Everywhere. Its just that over here, they wear Country Road rather than Boden.

Now don’t misunderstand me, I wish both Will and Kate the very best, they seem a charming couple and genuinely fond of each other (unlike Will’s poor parents who seemed like two polite strangers doing what their elders told them was best). However, I cannot help but feel that they’d have a much better chance of achieving lasting happiness were they not about to embark on the first step in what will inevitably be a life lived in the harsh light of a million flash bulbs.

The monarchy is a cruel institution. It should be banned for humanitarian reasons.

3. The new term at the Julian Ashton Art School starts next week and I, for one, cannot wait. The summer here is always so excitingly crammed with outdoors activities that I rarely draw except at work. The winter, though, ah, the winter is a different matter.

Plus, I have the Banff Mountain Film Festival, the Foo Fighters film ‘Back & Forth’, Skepticamp, Sydney Writers Festival, my Running Accountant mate’s 40th birthday and the 8km Mother’s Day Classic race to look forward to over the next two weeks.

That’s not all that is making me happy, either.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If an ark floated past right now I wouldn’t be at all surprised

  1. azahar says:

    What else then? Do tell!

    I love the hats at royal weddings, and that’s about it. I also never feel sorry for Royals – as “hardships” go, theirs don’t seem particularly harsh, unlike living in a cardboard box or not having any legs. Just saying.

    • Woo says:

      Sometimes I think I’d rather live in a cardboard box than be followed everywhere by nasty men with telephoto lenses. But that is probably more a reflection of my own personal hell than the reality of life as a Royal!

      As for the what else, I’m trying to figure out how to write about it, I promise πŸ™‚

  2. That last statement arouses many questions, you cryptic pigeon, you! I suspect a man is involved. . . either that, or a new job.

    Of all the reasons to ban the monarchy, humanitarian reasons is a new one. I do feel sorry for the Royals, and all the other people who have attracted the attention of the paparazzi and tabloids. Imagine not being able to do anything or go anywhere without being photographed, published all over the world, and discussed in detail by complete strangers, or having to wear a disguise to do something as simple as go for a walk on the beach. Diana Spencer would probably be alive today if it wasn’t for paparazzi. I used to wish to be famous; now — not so much.

    So are you going to the party, or are you boycotting it for humanitarian reasons?

    • Woo says:

      Aha, yes, I am unusually cryptic because of unresolved issues of privacy and respect which I will work out soon.

      I’ve never wished to be famous. I can’t imagine anything I’d like less, actually, the whole idea of being recognised everywhere and accosted sounds hellish.

      Yep, going to the party, but really only as its an opportunity to catch up with a friend I haven’t seen in two months!

  3. More about that last line, please. Kthx.

  4. ombudsben says:

    humanitarian reasons — I like it.

    The SPCR? Society for the prevention of cruelty to royals?

    • Woo says:

      Excellent. We should begin designing the logo immediately. Perhaps a guillotine or a paparazzi camera with a large red cross through it? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

