I should be getting paid for this but I’m not

I’m told I make a good advert.

This is obviously very flattering although it also goes slightly against the grain since I am vehemently anti-advertising as a general rule [a topic I avoid with my brother since that’s his line of work and I love him].

An advert for what, you cry? Personal training. Ahem. So far, 5 friends and colleagues of mine have signed up with my trainer, Jaymes, as a direct result of me having finally got off my lazy arse and got myself back in shape. They can apparently see that I’m not only slimmer and more toned, but that I have more energy and am more positive about myself and about life…

I get two extra sessions for each person who signs up because of a recommendation from me, which is great/exhausting… plus the per-session rate drops from $55 to $45 – also jolly handy.

But what I’m really enjoying (apart from feeling attractive enough, or nearly, to deserve someone as completely gorgeous as my Viking Sousaphonist) is the sense of helping others to get themselves sorted out, too. The first friend who signed up has already lost 8kg, looks totally amazing and has soooooo much more energy and drive now. In fact, she and her husband recently decided to try for a baby, largely because she now feels physically able to cope with it.

And the second friend to join up is a young chap with whom I work pretty closely who is just emerging from a heartbreaking split that crushed his self-confidence totally. And we all know how that feels. But after only a month training with Jaymes he also now knows how it feels to be able to revel in a new-found strength and fitness and to attract hitherto undreamt of attention from strangers on the street because of your looks and attitude. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I should be getting paid for this but I’m not

  1. modestypress says:

    Wonderful. I met with my personal trainer today. As I am a restless person, I have used four different trainers (all of whom were fine), but I am now very happy with Kim. She was married to and assisted a cardiologist (until she dumped him), so she seems to be as smart and educated (without degrees) as a doctor, and a physical therapest.

    Today she did my Body Mass Index. Five years ago I was about 40 pounds heavier and not very cardio fit. Today (or so she said, she might have been flattering me but I am ready to believe her) that I at about the perfect point in fat/height/weight (and assorted other criteria) ratio for a 67-year-old coot.

    Given that my date died of a heart attack at 48, one of my brothers is mad, and one of my sisters is a religious fanatic with a behavor disorder) I am amazed that 1) I am alive, 2) sane (well, I would think I am, would I not) and 3) not in prison or wandering the streets in a daze.

    So congratulations to you, to your trainer, to me, to my trainer.

    And non-genetic granddaughter Anne Elise, at seven years old, seems to be turning into a passable human being as well. She even ate dinner with us and behaved in a very civilized manner. She fell down at the beach and had a tantum, but what’s one little tantrum with family?

    Life is good. Good night.

    • Woo says:

      Sleep tight!

      (I’m very glad to hear you are in such good shape since hopefully that means you will be with us for a long time to come. I’m also astonished that RG is already seven years old. How on earth did that happen???!!!)

  2. modestypress says:

    Good grief. That my dad died of a heart attack. As far as I know, no dates ever died while going out with me.

  3. doctordi says:

    Yep – all I want to do is sign something so I can work out with this miracle man too!! Sounds fantastic. I am really missing my proper exercise so am pleased you’re reaping the rewards of your own!

  4. doctordi says:

    Yep – all I want to do is sign something so I can work out with this miracle man too!! Sounds fantastic. I am really missing my proper exercise so am pleased you’re reaping the rewards of your own!

    • Woo says:

      He’s at Vision Personal Training in North Sydney – but honestly, any of the Vision gyms and trainers would be equally good, I’m sure. And I’m sure that baby J is keeping you running around quite enough for the moment, especially on lack of sleep!

  5. I’ve always wondered if personal trainers were actually worth it, I guess they must be. If I didn’t have so many other places to commit my money at this time, I might even go for it. Too bad Jaymes lives on the opposite side of the Earth from here.

    So glad to hear how much better you feel. More energy is a good thing, healthier is a good thing.

    • Woo says:

      I think many so called personal trainers probably aren’t worth it: I see a lot of people out in parks around Sydney being shouted at in small groups, and they don’t appear to achieve a whole lot. But I’m glad to say that Jaymes is most definitely worth every penny.

      In fact, I was up at 6am this morning for an 8km run with him and I barely broke a sweat. πŸ™‚

  6. I like pushing myself and going at my own pace, but I have to admit you make it sound like a good idea.

    • Woo says:

      It really is. I only wish I’d done it years ago. It is a big expense, and my finances are pretty hand-to-mouth every month, but then what is more worth spending money on than your own health and wellbeing, right?

      I think the important thing, though, is to find a trainer who focuses as much on nutrition as on the exercise. Balancing what goes in with what you burn off is the key. And someone who is passionate enough about it to make it fun, of course! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

