Countdown

This time in two weeks, Friday 15th July, I will be arriving in Bristol to meet my Viking Sousaphonist; the lovely man who has been my friend and heart’s desire for the last 6 years and for whom I carried a well-documented but bafflingly unrequited torch all that time. He who has recently become my long-distance boyfriend. In 10 days time he will no longer be long distance. 🙂

I fly out of Sydney on the 12th, spend a day in transit [everytime I hear the words ‘in transit’ I want to say ‘sic transit gloria mundi’… so there you go, I have], then two days with my sisters in Norwich entering into my middle sister’s plans for her wedding in November, and then I will get on a train and cross the UK from east coast to west, no doubt accompanied by a stomach full of butterflies and a head full of insecurities.

My Viking Sousaphonist will meet me at the other end. And then our entirely-new-and-breathlessly-exciting-but-at-the-same-time-wholly-familiar-and-reassuringly-solid relationship will have two weeks to wither or thrive, while we marvel at each other and try and figure out what on earth to do about it.

Holy cow.

This entry was posted in niceness, unrequited and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Countdown

  1. azahar says:

    Hope it’s all as lovely as you want it to be.

  2. Stephen Kahn says:

    When I was little I milked a cow with horns named “Stormy.” After the milking as I took her out to the field where we staked her to graze, she put her horns down and tried to kill me. I don’t know that “holy cow” is the right tag to put into this post.

    On the other hand, as a big fan of Shakespeare. No, I will stop right there with that.

    I will live on tenterhooks in the meantime. I know the name of a good relationship counselor in our neighborhood, though she is a bit of a “new age” freak.

    Whatever you do, please set a good example for Anne Elise. She is only seven years old and very impressionable.

  3. doctordi says:

    Oh good lord, that means you’re THERE!!!!!! Sorry sorry sorry to be so behind that you’ve actually left on your grand romantic adventure without my skipping after you throwing rose petals in your wake… What’s happening?! Oh, Woo, all good luck to you. xxx

Leave a Reply

